Game Design Artist Question
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Game Design Artist Question

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Game Design Artist Question

Hi guys, my name is Michael Scala, I graduated from school last month and I have been trying to make it into the industry as an artist. I have probably sent out my resume/ portfolio over 200 times, and no bites, although I have taken a few art tests here and there.

My main question is, I keep getting told by my family/ friends that I should move out to LA, Seattle, San Fran to have a better opportunity in order to get a job. I would love to move but I dont see the point if I cant land a job by sending out my resume from where Im at now.

Will moving out to a big city really bring my chances any higher? I do consider myself to be a good artist.

My portfolio can be found at: http://artofscala.com/

Last edited by thescala; August 8th, 2010 at 06:58 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Sweet, alot of help with this one.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hey Michael, you need to be a bit patient, sometimes people can take a while to start replying on posts here! (The really useful people don't have as much time on their hands )

I was in your position last year and had no idea how to get a job in the industry. I think the best route right now is to get a load of experience any way you can. Find a mod that needs concept art, see if there's any Flash game devs who need artwork. Keep building on your portfolio, and keep applying. Soon enough someone will take notice and give you a shot!

I don't think necessarily moving to a big city will help your chances.. If you don't have anything tying you to where you are now, you can always move anywhere, whenever which is what I did. I applied all over the UK and ended up moving 200miles to start my job at Traveller's Tales (I know 200miles in the states is nothing though!)