Thanks

Blogger/Blogspot Optimzation

Hello,

In an effort to amp up my online presence as an artist, I have been trying to get my art blog and website to work properly and to load efficiently. I was wondering if anyone uses Blogger, and what suggestions you might be able to offer in terms of optimization, and getting the page to open and load quicker.

If it helps, here is the link to my blog:

www.jackillsley.blogspot.com

www.jackillsley.co.uk

The second link is that of my own website, which generally needs updating. It could also probably do with a little streamlining. The website might not open over the next couple of days because of some tweaks I'm making to it, but the blog link should work just fine.

Thanks for any help you can give,

Jack.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    For your Blogspot I'd suggest you remove the background image and replace it with just a solid colour, and have less images per page. That alone would probably increase the loading speed by a lot.

For your website, it has a nice simple design already. I think having clickable thumbnails which will load up the particular work would help. That way the browser only has to load up the image they choose and not all of them at once.

For images in general you can use the "save for web and devices" option in Photoshop to optimize the file size whilst retaining image quality.

Thanks
    I disagree about clickable thumbnails. They make sense on a vertical layout, but horizontal layouts are designed for quickly scrolling through, and having to stop and click each thumbnail would be counter intuitive on an already unfamiliar navigation method. What I would suggest is optimizing them with Save for Web as Burl said. Most of your images are in the 230kb range, which is a bit much for web design. I usually aim for 100kb or less, but I don't go higher than about 150kb if it's at all avoidable.