Lay the Crtitiques on me
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Lay the Crtitiques on me

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Lay the Crtitiques on me

A Grim Future, by Jamie Brown (the terminator pic)

http://www.mirrorimagesdesign.com/filmpop-culture.html

This is mixed media. An oil painting with some digital touch ups. I like to combine traditional and digital. I guess I find it gives a bit of a rough edge digital can't do on its own. Plus I love the old school movie posters and hand painted concept design. Anyway, I'm 23 and new to this. Im self-taught, painting and digital work, so I'm just looking for some advice to see if I have a realistic shot at making it as a concept artist. Any tips on working digitally with Photoshop would be awsome as well. P.s. Love the site, some serious talent all over the place.

Cheers,

Jamie.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by JamestfBrown; July 27th, 2010 at 09:33 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I'd say you did a good job on the terminator, but it's weak in terms of composition. All the way on the bottom left corner, the people fighting look out of place, so does the cactus and the explosion. The two biggest issues are

- The background. There's a mini-nuke going off and lasers shooting in the sky, and the sky is just dark, flat, and plain? The smoke is barely visible.

- Detailing: The terminator (foreground) and explosion (background) are the two most detailed things. How come everything in between them is blurry?

It looks like you just put some things together without thinking about how it would affect the lighting.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to hippl5 For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following