Art: Concept Designs for BBC Childrens Sci-Fi Comdey show - "HOUNDED"

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Concept Designs for BBC Childrens Sci-Fi Comdey show - "HOUNDED"

Hi,

I was fortunate enough to get the gig for designing around a dozen elements for a childrens show in the U.K.

It was a lot of fun and I manage to produce some fairly memoranle and unique designs over the three month period I worked on the show.

I am primarily a 3D Artist, I did study traditional design to degree level but since entering the CGI Industry 15 years ago my drawing skills have suffered and I now find it easier and quicker to concept directly in 3D. I had roughly 4 working days on each design and needed to get a placeholder model done asap for the VFX guys to do animatics hence the lack of beautiful digtal illustrations! ;-)

A bit of background on the show;

Rufus Hound (realname) is a TV presenter on a kids science show and each day he gets beamed into an alternate reality where he must face his nemesis , Dr. Muhahaha, and foil his regular plans to destroy/invade Earth using some fairly unconventional weapons. every time Rufus succeeds however Mu just hits his red button and time re-winds forcing Rufus to live the day all over again. Bizarre?, just a bit but the kids seem to be loving it over here and it`s a great feeling to have people come up to me at my kids school and say how much they are enjoying my designs.

The following are promotional renders of the elements I created for the BBC.

The Starsheep Enterprise.
    The original name for this was "The Wool ship" and they just wanted a ball of wool. Once the settled on the name the rest seemed obvious to me

Scissor Ships
    Fast ships that chase after the wool ship

Mu Force One

I had to put the fist on it....they made me ;-)

Suk-O-Matic 3000
    Mu s` first mega-weapon.

Attached Images Attached Images