I DO NOT HAVE A MANGA STYLE!!! (help?)

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

I DO NOT HAVE A MANGA STYLE!!! (help?)

So, ten years ago, like many pre-teens, I got into manga and anime. Hard. It's all I drew, and I was happy with it.

A few years down the road, I realize that if I want to make my living as an artist, I need to drop the anime style. For the most part, it is synonymous with "I drew this in 7th period history class on lined paper. Isn't DBZ COOL!?" I didn't want to limit myself with such a flash-in-the-pan style, so I cut myself from it. Sold all my anime and manga, and surrounded myself with other inspirations.

Fast forward to today. I have made a conscious effort to avoid all the anime pitfalls - eyes that crawl up the forehead, spiky, gravity-defying hair, anatomy featuring a bone structure and muscle system that couldn't possibly support human life, etc. I think my style is, for the most part, still a little cartoony, but not manga-centric.

Every once in a while, though, someone will see my art and comment on the "manga style" or "anime rendering". They say it in a well-meaning manner, but every time I am dumbfounded. I can't tell what I am doing that lights up the "anime" lightbulb in so many people's heads.

If it's not too much trouble, take a look at my portfolio. There's a link in my signature. What am I still doing that makes people think manga? Does anyone else ever have this problem? How should I handle people that do make these comments? Is it really so distracting that you think it might offend potential employers?

Thanks a con, CA.
    (this seems appropriate. )