"Newbie" artist w/intense self criticism - what do you do?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

"Newbie" artist w/intense self criticism - what do you do?

Hey,

Though I've been occasionally lurking for a little bit, I'm new so apologies if I'm posting in the wrong forum. I've looked around and this seems like the best place, so I'm very sorry if it isn't.

I'm not a very competent artist - I've been drawing for several years, but not as often as I can - perhaps a handful of times a month. I only actually started using references last year and started doing practice sketches, so I have a long way to go and I feel like a total newbie suddenly because of it.

But my problem is that I loathe every single line I draw to the point where it totally sucks out the enjoyment I get from drawing.

A couple of months ago I started drawing completely random things for the hell of it, and because I had no attachment to the end result I had a great time and, ironically, improved quite a lot. But as soon as I actively tried to get better, I started hating everything I produced again. I'd love to start a sketchbook and actively seek out criticism, but to be honest, I'm afraid it'll only make me worse when it comes to enjoyment levels.

What do you recommend? What have other people's experience been when it comes to this, is there any advice? Is it a simple matter of attitude adjustment, or do I bite the bullet and ask for concrit anyway? Is it acceptable to ask for concrit on a piece which you don't feel is perfect? (To be honest - if I kept adjusting a piece and fixing mistakes, I don't think I'd ever fix it, but I don't know how common that is as I've only recently started caring about doing the best I can do.)

How do you approach it?