WHAT am I doing...
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: WHAT am I doing...

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Unhappy WHAT am I doing...

Hello everyone,
    My name is Tiffany and this is my first post on here. I am an Illustration student approaching my last year of school and reality is starting to set in. I do not know what direction I am going job wise. I would love to get into concept design for gaming but I know my work does not show it. I am looking to develop my portfolio so i will have a better chance of landing a job once i finish school. I work traditionally and recently started using photoshop to paint digitally. I have the whole summer off to work on my technical skills. Could someone please help me in guiding me in what programs i should learn and what my next step should be. I have the whole summer to improve and do not want this time to go to waste. Thank you so much

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    concept design for gaming = photoshop.
    Though, there do still seem to be some people who work largely traditionally or who got jobs with a mostly traditional portfolio. Most companies probably want you to be able to work in photoshop though. Helps to know about 3d modeling and texturing and such but I'd focus on your 2D portfolio first. You're right, your webpage doesn't show that you want to get into concept design.
    Look through Massive Black's portfolio for an idea of what you need in your portfolio. Or look up some artists from a game company you admire.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I know how you feel by the way, graduating from college I realized I didn't want to do what I thought I wanted to do, and I did not have many pieces or the skills or knowledge that would get me where I now want to be. Its a bummer, and takes some of us longer to figure out than others.

Last edited by Burhtun; June 14th, 2010 at 08:19 PM.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following