Page 1 of 18 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

Thread: A Year of Drawing - 0 months to go

Thanks

A Year of Drawing - 0 months to go

Hello!

Here goes my first post
    ive been lurking around here for years but it has always seemed a bit big to try and become an active member... well, now i have a reason to do so.
    Until now ive worked mostly with Digital mediums (3d, web design, general photoshopping, etc) but since i tried getting into a certain art school for 3d/animation/concept design and failed for not knowing how to draw properly, ive taken up a goal to learn a bit of life drawing this year. ive always liked drawing but never had the chance to learn it properly.

This is a beginning for a long journey...
    if youre interested, you can view my digital stuff on my hompage here
    and the level of drawing i was at when applying in a pdf here

lets begin!
    like i said, i have no previous experience exept doodling for fun on edges of notebooks in school (been out for a few years)... downside of living in a small city with no art courses

Week 1
    First i picked up a book called "figure drawing for dummies" (horrible brand but i liked the style the drawings were.) so for the first week i did that, followed the exercises, learned to draw different parts of the head and body

then the book lost itself somewhere in my opinion... it told how to draw specific parts but putting them together was rather vague, so i went ahead and tried doing a portrait with what i had learned

and after that the book flew into the corner...

Week 2
    So now i picked up this video from gnomon- figure drawing by Dave Finch
    it's really exellent! The drawing style fits me perfectly and the way he builds up the body really did it for me... ive always struggled to draw a natural figure- i never knew where to start and it always end up like stiff disproportioned log... well, not anymore