Thanks

Photoshop is a....shortcut?

I cannot say exactly I've been taking a beating from other artists, but I've been hearing a lot of rants and angsty complaints saying that photoshop is just a shortcut for lazy people to cheat with.

I've been using photoshop for four years now, a little longer if you count short sessions at the library, and I do not understand how it could possibly be a shortcut. Is it a shortcut or maybe the person who said that has never used it? I'm not sure.

Personally I love to paint, but I prefer, from time to time, the neat and sometimes vibrant colors of photoshop. But, to me, photoshop takes many more hours than a painting does, I'm working on a simple portrait right now, and I mean simple, a girl standing face forward, oooh, but it is taking forever, and I'm loving every moment of it! It's taken so long and I don't care, the improvement has shocked me. So why would someone ask me to stop using photoshop and call it a shortcut?

Furthermore, I know some people here attend Rsad, I'm going to be attempting to apply there in the next year or so, my major would be in illustration, so wouldn't I -need- photoshop skills or at least some sort of computer skills?

Sorry to post something like this but I'm just so shocked and a little hurt that someone would call photoshop a mere shortcut and ask me to "please please please stop using it!"

Any thoughts? Am I wrong, is it just a shortcut and I'm just really really slow? :p
    It's better to live on your feet than to die on your knees.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    well...the answer is kind of yes and no in your case.

I think the person asking you to stop using it (is he or she your art instructor/mentor?) is thinking that at this stage in your artistic development, you could be shortchanging yourself by opting to got to digital painting so early (you're still in high school, right?).