Specs for an artist's computer

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Next year I'll be attending art college and since I'm mainly into digital art I wanted to buy a new desktop computer. The problem is, I'm really a hardware newbie and I already got lost trying to decide on the specs.

My expectations are a desktop PC that will run both Photoshop and Painter smooth even with the more complex brushes. I will also be doing basic 3d modeling and animation for college. And last thing, I want it to have a big monitor (or maybe duel monitors?) so I can work "big", 17" just isn't enough for me.
    oh, and the budget is around 1k$

Any advise would be much helpful.
    Thanks.

btw, shouldn't there be a "hardware" section in the "sfoware and hardware" forum? I couldn't find any place more relevant to post this then the lounge...

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,259 Times in 2,074 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    You can build your own for quite Cheap. I spent about 600-700 on the box, and already had a monitor (150 on my 20" Samsung Touch of Color). (Then again I also got a processor for free).

You can get a 1 or 2 tb drive for about 100-150 bucks now. I usually have 2 drives. One is for storage one is for the OS. A 500gb drive is about 50 bucks and is a very good start where you can upgrade later.

Processor, go with an icore7 the new AMD processors or Intel Quad Core Q9650 (the q9650 is about 300) AMD Phenom II's are very cheap at 165 for the processor.

As far as 3d work you can get a Quadro FX at base level about 150-200 dollars.

I went with a good Gigabyte Mobo but Asus is also touted as pretty good. I only spent about 100 on the mobo and it is upgradable for 16gb of ddr3 memory.