Art: Bargue, Plate 1/40

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Bargue, Plate 1/40

Learning to render using charcoal. Sadly I cannot afford artistic training ever (10 000 K per year?!) and need to learn without life contact with a master. But, thanks to Dorian and Ilyas for their help!

I did not use toned paper. Paper were toned using watercolor washes.

Still self-taught, need good critique.

Regards from Jöllenbeck,
    Talwacht

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Talwacht; April 21st, 2010 at 10:53 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Congrats on such a great Bargue considering you've had no training!
    I can't say I've ever seen that plate, so a side by side comparison to your drawing and the original would help us judge your accuracy. As for the shading, I think you have a good range of values, but they're not fully shaded. This may be the paper grain, but if you're using charcoal, go in with a stump and flatten your values. This will help significantly in creating depth. "Active lights passive shadows" is the key. Hope this helps.

"Art is the invisible, rendered visible, wrought with love"
    - Frank Mason
    MY SKETCHBOOK http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=143696

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hi Oruhito,

I scanned the study from Bargues Course, and placed it beside my own.
    Bargue, Plate 1/40

In my home there hides a stump somewhere, I did nut use it yet and cannot handle it, making dark dots into light area by accident. But I will try it. Thank you for the hint.

I fear I do not understand what you mean with "active lights, passive shadows", could you explain it, please?

Regards,
    Talwacht

Last edited by Talwacht; April 21st, 2010 at 12:27 PM.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Hey Talwacht.

That´s a good start! How did you measure?

Critique: