Thanks

Talking Paintings and other stuff...

I'm still pretty new to the painting dept. but I've been drawing for quite some time and took up painting in may of last year... I'm 16 and still a junior in high school and still eagerly learning. Please leave a critique.

Excuse the small files, I'm a bit paranoid because I'm sending these off to summer programs/competitions soon... keeping my fingers crossed to be selected!
    I will continue to post as I finish paintings...
    Last edited by Praemium; June 16th, 2011 at 07:14 PM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 2,548 Posts
    Your stuff looks really good for your level of experience! Great to see those landscapes in there too. Not really much critique to offer - just need to keep at it. Also make time to study your drawing fundamentals - simple still lifes like you have there are perfect for that - watch your perspective. Also be aware of tangents and avoid them - they are places where two edges meet in an unusual or confusing way.

Here's a book that you may get a lot out of: "Drawing Essentials" by Deborah Rockman. It is more for a college level drawing class but you're there anyway.

Keep working hard - you have a better start than most of us had!
    What would Caravaggio do?

Portfolio
    Plein Air
    Digital
    Still Life
    Sight Measuring
    Fundamentals

Thanks
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 2,548 Posts
    OK - actually one bit of a tip more than a critique...You're doing a good job with rendering (describing texture, light/dark, etc.) but in specific areas separate from each other. Try to work the whole drawing together from a light, construction phase through to finish - checking to make sure everything is relating correctly - mainly in perspective and placement.