Thanks
    Thanked 1,137 Times in 399 Posts

Html and web design

Hey.

Just looking for some info on html and web design, anyone who does this kinda thing for a living, your input would be greatly appeciated.

Ive been looking for html tutorials and ive found some here and there, but ive also found that there are programs that do all or most of the html for you and you just have to put in the pictures and text etc etc, I would think if people wanted a site built they could just use this rather than paying someone else to do it for them.

If I were to get into this to make money as a professional web designer some day, would I need to know html/flash/whatever else, really well, or just piggy back on a program that does it for me? because tbh that feels like cheating.

But Im a complete newb at this so clearly I have a huge lack of info on the subject, and I just want some info on where to start and what I need to do.

also any good tutorial sites etc would be great, Ive found some, though alot of them seem to try and give me spyware -.-

thanks

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Programs create very ugly coding. They often create long code that could be shortened a lot. If the code can be shortened/made more efficient, then the websites loading times could be decreased.
    My Sketchbook

frazmctag@gmail.com

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to FraserMcT For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 1,312 Times in 544 Posts
    Hi Crane.

I'm a part-time web designer / graphic designer and I'll tell you without hesitation that you do need to have a really good understanding of HTML, CSS, XML, XHTML, javascript (Don't worry, the similarities will between all of these will become apparent really quickly, not as daunting as you might think) and other lingo's in order to become successful at this line of work.