RISD or university? Pros and cons?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: RISD or university? Pros and cons?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

RISD or university? Pros and cons?

Hi, I'm relatively new to conceptart.org but I'm really in need of help making my college decisions for next year. I'm a graduating senior in high school who has an excellent academic record but sort of wants to go to art school, if that makes sense.

I've gotten into both RISD and MICA, but am leaning more towards studying at RISD because of its illustration program. Problem is, I don't really fit the "artist" bill and am still strongly considering going to a liberal art school with a good art program (namely, North Carolina State University College of Design and Boston University) due to both money concerns (RISD gave me 14k in aid for freshman year while BU gave me 26k... when considering funds in the long run, it makes a difference) and questions about my... personality.

My parents don't believe I am "strong enough" to go to art school and constantly frame their conversations with "when you can't handle RISD and drop out, what will you do?" The issue is that I have an extremely weak personality for an artist and possess an unstable self-confidence and resolve. That, and also because I am better at my academics than art any day and they believe I have more potential at a liberal art school (aka when I "grow out of my artist phase and want to get a real major"). My hope is that going to art school can help me change the greater flaws in my personality... while my parents and even my art teacher are doubtful (my art teacher suggests I go to MICA because it is less competitive there and will thus be "less miserable").

My real problem is that I'm not sure if it's better to go to RISD or to a liberal arts school and if it would have an effect on my job prospects after I get out. Earning money after school is also a big issue for me...