Personal RANT - Caution Generation Gap Comments

Join 500,000+ artists on ConceptArt.Org.

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks

Personal RANT - Caution Generation Gap Comments

I have posted this rant in the Art Discussion forum because I feel it is directly related to mature artists and warrants some feedback.

So ....

I'm on the verge of telling my 20-something year old boss that he is an ass. Yes, he knows his animation and yes he can reel-in the 'big' contracts but he has the inter-personal relationship skills of a 2 year old.

He demands things be done 'his' way and refuses to even listen to alternatives. I have 25 years of experience in some fields and I know my stuff and I am no computer idiot either. I am smart enough to figure out one of the most complex software programs on the market in less than a week - something I'm damn proud of. But this guy takes tantrums if he doesn't get his own way. Shhessh I had enough of that shit raising two teenagers.

Now I am faced with a delimma. Do I continue to take the abuse from some young jerk or do I bite my tongue and suffer the humiliation. Gawd, I love this business and I love producing art but sometimes I'm pretty damn sure that this new generation of employers need babysitters of their own.

If it wasn't for parents letting their teenagers goof off in the basement learning everything 'computer related' or playing every video game on the market I'm pretty damn sure that some of these kids wouldn't be smarter than say people my age. Gawd, I would probably be a genius too if I could live off my parents (while they work their asses off), eat all their food and get my mother to do my laundry so I could stay up til 4AM playing God of War with two or three friends.