Art: The Gray Wolf
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: The Gray Wolf

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

The Gray Wolf

Total newbie here, so bear with me, hopefully I won't break any etiquette.

I've started a sculpture of my idea of a character from the story by George MacDonald called "The Gray Wolf". She is basically a werewolf, but I am choosing to accentuate her wolfish features with long hands and feet with claws.

First time using sculpey, I'm enjoying it, but unfortunately I've been having problems with my armature. I've decided to press on, because this is mostly for myself and for learning purposes and there are many more stages where I could mess up!

Very rough stages..

Where I am now..

Here you can see the main problem with the armature- my foil base was far too wide, it looks like she's nesting on an egg!

Also, the wire sticks out on her wrist, but I might be able to trim that once it's baked?

Anyway, sorry for the long starting post, thankyou if you've gotten through all that. I've been absolutely spellbound here going through other people's threads- what a treasure trove!

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Shona; April 12th, 2010 at 07:18 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Welcome - well done!

Yes it seems we all have to deal with armatures sticking out of limbs - or hands that wont stick to the armature. You are learning from your problems and that is the most important.

For some reason all my armatures seems to grow inside the clay - but it might just be a question about experience.

Your anatomy is all right (not yours of course - the wolf-lady) - but your first sculpture is really about getting a feeling for the clay, the &%¤¤## armature and learning how not to burn your sculpture beyond recognition in the oven.