A question about learning progression

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hi everybody. I am studying drawing for like 5 or 6 months now. And I only drew simple plaster shapes and still lifes in pencil until now. So I wanted to ask others opinion about how long should one stay on drawing simple objects before trying something more complex (should i get a very solid foundation or get down and dirty with something complex right away)

Thanks in advance.

Here's an example of one of my recent drawings (not finished)

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The drawing is progressing wonderfully. The still life you are drawing has many objects and as a composition already has a level of complexity. I don't see ay reason you don't go on to something more complex, go ahead!!! But, remember to return to these simpler forms periodically.

And welcome to CA.

"Don't judge a book by it's cover" Frank Frazetta 1928-2010
    RIP Frank.

DA gallery http://michaelsyrigos.deviantart.com/gallery/

CA Sketchbook http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...d.php?t=131601

Thanks
    Thanked 1,849 Times in 598 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    That looks pretty complex to me. In any event I wouldn't restrict yourself to some pre-determined notion of what you "should" do to become better. If you feel like drawing something very complex, do it. Conversely, it's sometimes good to move outside your comfort zone, so drawing something that challenges you will help you improve.

Thanks
    Thanked 5,979 Times in 2,410 Posts
    Follows
    Following