Thread: Posting Test

Thanks

Posting Test

Last edited by dennistheartist; March 7th, 2010 at 04:09 PM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,346 Times in 1,120 Posts
    Since I'm just starting out with the whole internet freelance thing take what i say with a grain.

First off though, since there are no face-to-face interviews or portfolios, one of the most important things is having a nice, simple to navigate website that puts the art up front. Man oh man, you really need to invest in a new site. Even using Deviantart's free portfolio addon would be a huge step up from what you're using. it takes too long to load images, the "unique" way the thumbnails shrink and fly away as you move the cursor away from them is annoying, and having any sort of music is a huge taboo (forgetting that in some cases an image of yours might have its own music, creating a horrible overlay of 2 songs I don't want to hear)

So yeah. 10 minutes on deviantart can get you a much nicer site for free.

As for finding and dealing with clients, post your art everywhere. Go to forums and update regularly, post your art on facebook. If there are small publishers you might want to work for, contact them to see if they have work, or if they know anyone who needs work done.

Even if you don't always have a contract (which you probably should) always ask a new client if they're willing to sign a simple contract. If they're not, alarm bells should be ringing. Always ask for some portion of money up-front or upon approval of the sketches. I usually do it upon approval of sketches. If they flake and don't pay, then at least I'm only out a few hours of work and there's not too much they can do with low-quality sketches. This has only happened once thankfully.

Don't undersell yourself but be willing to compromise.

I can't think of any other general tips right now.