Art: The New Guy...
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: The New Guy...

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

The New Guy...

Hello!

I just joined this forum in hopes of furthering my own knowledge, education and networking to the concept art community.

My background is in architecture (graduation in 2003) and I have longed to learn more about concept art, matte painting and digital illustration. I have loved to draw since I was a kid, like I am sure most here are the same way, and through the years of pushing out "photoreal" renderings without any real feeling, I see that I really want to go back to what drove me as a younger person. I can see that digital art is an avenue to develop a unique style that stands out from the crowd.

That being said, I will admit that I am really unprepared and a little lost in trying to find a proper way to learn digital illustration and concept art. I am a whiz at SketchUp, can throw things into Max and render out some decent images, but I want to learn how to paint on top of those images to really bring out the mood, color and emotion that bad 3d renders seem to have.

I have purchased a Wacom tablet and have SketchUp at my disposal, but I want to build a foundation with projects that I can learn step-by-step from. I am not so niave to think that i can learn it all in weeks or months, I just really want to go after the elusiveness of finding my own way.

Is there anyone out there that can suggest a way for a complete beginner to start? From compositing to painting over an image to make it look like a digital illustration, I wanted to ask before I get lost in the labyrinth of such a wonderfully complex and exciting journey.

Thank you for any help, and I would gladly collaborate with other artists in need of some SketchUp modelling in exchange of techniques and enlightenment.

Cheers!
    Eric

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

help