Sketchbook: Absolute noob
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Absolute noob

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Absolute noob

Hi CA! I am a 25 year old web developer who just started to draw about 2 weeks before. I am an absolute noob at drawing. The last time I drew was when I was 8 years old. I usually copied some Disney and Japanese anime back then.

I decided to go back to drawing because it is an itch that has been with me for a while now but has largely been ignored(due to video games )

As you can see from my sketches, I am usually concentrating on line art. I haven't been practicing shading and values yet. I posted my sketches here( however embarrassing it is and how horrible they are) so that I can learn from the people here on what to learn and improve. I have read some Loomis, Vilppu and Bridgeman books. But I want the opinion of the people here too so that I can avoid bad habits from developing.

I don't have any artistic talent whatsoever. My aces on the table is the willingness to learn, drive to practice and the joy I derived from drawing.

Hope you can help me improve my drawing.

Attached Images Attached Images      
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The hand sketches are quite nice and so are the figure contours at the top, though they seem a bit static. I wonder, are you drawing from pictures or a model? You will hear this many times, especially around here, drawing from life is one of the best ways to improve.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following