Beginners Issues
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Beginners Issues

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Beginners Issues

Hi there. First off I just wanted to say what an amazing forum this is. I'm definatly in awe at the amount of talented people here. It's kind of a mind trip when just picking a forum to look into.

Anyhow, I'm a beginner in drawing on the computer, and I know I don't belong here. But I don't know anyone who draws so I don't particularly have anyone to converse with. My problem is I find when im drawing, lets say mountains, I start off with a general idea, but then I start to scribble in the more fine detail hoping that the random brush strokes im doing will work. I would say to myself that I need to visualize what Im drawing a bit more, and attempt to replicate that by taking my time... I donno. I was just wondering if anyone has any advice they would like to share. Thanks for reading

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

dpaint is offline Registered User Level 16 Gladiator: Spartacus' Retiarii
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,881 Times in 2,355 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Every mark on your paper or canvas or screen should have a purpose and that purpose shows the intent of the artist and their control of the medium. A lack of that control says even the good stuff is an accident and I don't know what I am doing. Painting or drawing in a loose style doesn't mean the marks are made in a haphazard way. every mark has a beginning, a path and an end. You should know what those are before you make it. What you are doing is learning to abtract the mountain into a series of large and small shapes that look believable to a viewer. To do that you must be able to understand what you see as value and color and pattern and then reproduce those things as an image.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to dpaint For This Useful Post:

Zazerzs is offline ....bing me the bore worms Level 7 Gladiator: Samnite
    Thanks