Thanks

A painting a day

I am just learning painting, and to speed the learning along I am going to be a doing a painting every day for the rest of the semester (and quite possibly longer, but at least until April 21st). I am starting out doing black and white still lives, and then I am going to move up into color and interiors/landscapes/figures.

The rules:
    2-3 hours each
    10 1/4 x 9 1/2

I'm going to show the two paintings I did right at the beginning of the semester so you see how utterly horrible they are. Gross.

http://i49.tinypic.com/2uojr5k.jpg
    http://i49.tinypic.com/27y1zjd.jpg

the first three are acrylics, and the most recent two are oils.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Nice studies! When you paint your daily studies do you use thumbnails for composition or do you start right into the painting? Keep it up

Thanks
    prufrock27: I haven't been doing thumbnails, I've just been going at it, but certainty not a bad idea

I've been sick since yesterday (so no painting on Sunday. Ahah, Sunday was spent wanting to curl up and die), a bit better now, but anyway, here's the paintings from Friday and Saturday.

Friday's was horrible. It was hard staring into the light when it was on, and I just ended up getting rid of the cloth that was heaped around the bottom on the jar.

Thanks
    very good... and u know when i was learning painting ..i also thought the same thing...i painting a day... but after 4 days i couldn't continue...then it became irregular and then i stopped...i hope u do not make the mistake i made...

Thanks
    nope. Well, I've made it to day 8

I think this one's turned out well; compositionally and lighting wise it seems to be better realized then some of my other paintings.

Thanks
    I've been painting but not updating. Last few days:

Thanks
    While very few of these artists produce a new painting every single day.

Thanks