Questions regarding studies
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Questions regarding studies

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Question Questions regarding studies

So I have a few questions for you all. (Just random questions about what I'm studying really)

I'm trying to expand my visual vocabulary, learn anatomy, and be able to render with my pencil like those awesome sketchbook pages that look like this

by Aleksander Rostov (sp?)

So what I'm doing to expand my visual vocabulary is studying from reference photos, drawing from life every now and then, and studying photos and drawings of anatomy. I feel like just drawing it isn't keeping it in my brain though, and I'm wondering if there are exercises that really would test my brain in applying this knowledge I get from copying anatomy, etc.

I just feel like anatomy is so complex, because every twist and turn shows the muscles in a different way, and that's where it becomes difficult drawing from imagination.

As for rendering to the like of those sketchbook pages by Aleksander, is that something that just comes with time, or is there some certain technique that I'm not understanding? Does the pencil matter as well? I normally use mechanical pencil and I feel that that holds back my line quality.

Any advice would be excellent. Thanks all.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

dpaint is offline Registered User Level 16 Gladiator: Spartacus' Retiarii
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,880 Times in 2,355 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Start more abstractly, just make ink blot type shapes and then ask yourself what they look like and then make them that thing you see stay away from the ref until you absolutely need to have it.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to dpaint For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following