Art: Workshops and School work :D

View testimonialsView Artwork
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Workshops and School work :D

Hey Everybody,

I'm a illustration/fine arts student in so cal. I'll be posting my figure drawings from class and workshops here. I am still trying to achieve a better friendship with my pencil and will hopefully overcome my fear of oil painting.....baby steps....
    Any helpful tidbits and suggestions would be dope.

The first few drawings range from 5min-2hr poses... My quick sketch needs some tlc, I'm still trying to figure out how to be economical with my lines.

The last five are from class last semester, followed by my portrait final. I definitely regret not adding more medium to my darks... a few more months until I can varnish!

Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by F!END; February 7th, 2010 at 12:39 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to F!END For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    These are nice drawings. Proportions might be a bit off in the first few drawings. As for the painting- I really like it. The snuck in warmth in the whites of the shirt and the bold lighting in the face works well. Why don't you clean it with a rag and water, and then oil it out? that will bring back your darks and will reduce the chance of odd spots if some of your pigments were in fact very absorbent when it comes time to varnish. retouch varnish would also do the job.

"A drawing is not necessarily academic because it is thorough, but only because it is dead. Neither is a drawing necessarily academic because it is done in what is called a conventional style, any more than it is good because it is done in an unconventional style. The test is whether it has life and conveys genuine feeling."- Harold Speed
    [[Sketchbook]]