Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thanks

Question Abstract art is not art?

I never understood abstract art when I was younger; I always thought that it was a bunch of intelectual nonsense, that`s why I always prefered comics over fine art, art was boring, but when I started studying architecture; I was shown the meaning of abstract art, and I started to understand Cubism, Dada, Pop art, Suprematism and stuff; for me it didn`t become much more interesting but at least I understand the idea behind abstract art, and respect it.

Now I read this article:

Abstract Art is not Art:

http://www.artrenewal.org/articles/2...tract/Ross.php

And, even though I pretty much have the same tastes in art as these guys (I prefer realism over abstract art); I`m not sure the person who wrote this article really understands abstract art, he makes a few valid points that got me thinking, but... I don`t know, even if I believe abstraction is WAY OVERRATED, I think it is an artform as valid as realism.

What do you guys think?
    The Light and Dark Arts of Cristian Saksida
    Portfolio:http://www.chrissaksida.com
    Blog:http://cristiansaksidaarts.blogspot.com
    Twitter:http://twitter.com/crissaksida

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,192 Times in 516 Posts
    I think all art is abstract.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Bill For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Thanked 1,060 Times in 675 Posts
    I think photo-realist art is not art. Just kidding. I realize it is art, just like a photo is art. What I actually think is that it is completely pointless since a camera (OMG the rise of the machines) could have done that.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,049 Times in 686 Posts