Few beginner questions!
Join Free Art WorkShopJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Few beginner questions!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Few beginner questions!

Heya guys! As the title states, i'm new around here and i'm just looking for some much needed answers to get me started. There's no doubt that these queries have been asked a few billion times, and the answers are lying around somewhere in this huge archive of juicy information, but i'll throw it out there anyway!

So here's the deal. I'm 18 years old and live in the UK. I took an interest in design around 5 years ago, and began experimenting with Photoshop which then led on to be quite a big hobby of mine - now my career option. I'm completely self-taught with no experience of design as a subject in education (with much regret), so there are still a lot of paths undiscovered. Like a lot of stuff, digital art has always been one of those amazing forms which takes time and dedication, but I could never really stick with it. Now i'm really up for it as I NEED to build a portfolio, but i'm just not sure where to begin.

As for my particular focus in digital art, i'm really interested in 'Speed Painting' and character design. I do understand that there's a lot of theory involved, and even more practice, but i'm just struggling to find the sources to gain that information from, and the processes of it. Here are a few examples of the sort of art i'd like to produce (sorry, if I linked particular images there'd be hundreds!):

http://artbybin.deviantart.com/gallery
    http://leventep.deviantart.com/gallery
    http://www.leventep.com/

Now for my questions. I'll try and keep them simple:

1. What would be the most productive way of getting started? Should I just practice my drawing skills? Experiment with painting in Photoshop? Any past experience of learning you could share?