Theory Discussion: "Color Theory" Principles and Practices

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Exclamation Theory Discussion: "Color Theory" Principles and Practices

Hello forum people...

I would like to start by saying hello, my name is Ron Lemen, my handle, Fredflickstone is more recognizeable to other forum surfers. I am an artist/designer/illustrator/instructor in San Diego. I teach at the Jeff Watts Art Atelier, and I study great people to this day, Kevin is among the good company of greats I absorb.

I am leaving a little paper I wrote for my color theory class. It explains things in a basic approach. The approach is similar to the teachings of Juoaqin Sorolla, I spelled that wrong…and passed on through my instructor, mentor-Sebastian Capella, and now I am transferring the knowledge on to all of you.

This is merely a glimpse of information from a day long ago, when art teaching was more meaningful, and answers were available to all who wanted them.

Art is a tricky bastard these days, its not so easy to see the big picture because there are very few who know what the big picture means…it’s a Really Big Picture…anyway, I hope to sit around here more often, and hopefully contribute some stuff for the sake, and betterment of your art learning.

Thank you for reading this document. It is somewhat incomplete, but it has enough to get you by for now…any questions, please feel free to leave them, and I will answer anything you might have concerns with.

Thanks again,
    Ron

Name:  color3.jpg
Views: 100762
Size:  220.1 KB

Name:  color4.jpg
Views: 98197
Size:  200.6 KB

Name:  color5.jpg
Views: 98175
Size:  246.2 KB

Color Theory Notes

Most Importantly:

Color=Value

The color wheel is a system to learn this principal above. The color wheel is a break down of the color spectrum, scientifically, not based on a palette system, although it is rooted in a palette.