2 PCs + 1 monitor

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 2 PCs + 1 monitor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    209
    Thanked 168 Times in 91 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0

    2 PCs + 1 monitor

    Jep. That's the situation I'm in atm. I bought a new PC recently but I'd still like to be able to use my old one for games and some other stuff every now and then but I'm about $300+ short of a second monitor. I need a way to use the monitor for both without rewiring every time.

    So far the only way I know of is a switch box. But apparently I seem to be the only one in my friggin country in need of such a thing so no store has this in stock. I don't have a credit card so I can't order the stuff online either. I found one store that can order it but it's gonna cost some extra and takes at least a good few months to get here.

    So before I order it I was wondering maybe any of you guys knows of any other way to rig two PCs to one monitor?

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    bangkok/Berlin
    Posts
    2,588
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 3,055 Times in 944 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    They sell a switch that will let you use 1 monitor for 2 PC. There are also switches that will let you use 1 keyboard and 1 mouse for both PC. Simply ask your local computer store.
    Check the backside of your monitor too, most Flat screens have 2 connection plugs

    Currently working on my indie RPG , please check out
    DRAGON FIN SOUP on KICKSTARTER
    Please support my Project!
    - - - - - - - - - -
    My finished paintings and other work
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    209
    Thanked 168 Times in 91 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    Well, yes I said all I have to say about the switch possibility and just checked and I only have one plug. It's a really old flat screen so I'm not surprised.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Cool Britannia
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 123 Times in 83 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    I've got the same problem, so I had a look into switch boxes, but the reviews aren't encouraging at all: even the mostly positive ones complain of ghosting and loss of picture quality.

    It's a fuck-about having to unplug and re-plug and I'm worried about mashing the pins in the VGA cables, but if that's the only way to keep my image sharp, then it'll have to do. Just re-arrange your setup so it's easier to see what you're doing round the back.

    Crap solution I know

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to MikeMakesMonkeys For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    170
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 36 Times in 19 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    The only way to wire to PCs together with the same monitor is a KVM switch (keyboard-video-mouse).

    If you are working at home something like this would suffice. Of course make you have the right plugs to your monitor (this one shows a VGA port.. if your monitor supports that then use it.. else poke around for another one with a DVI or HDMI if you need that instead).
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817107407

    Though if this is going to cost a lot for you just unplug and replug the connections... but watch out and don't bend any pins.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to modi123 For This Useful Post:


  9. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    631
    Thanks
    209
    Thanked 168 Times in 91 Posts
    Follows
    0
    Following
    0
    OK, so I gather that either a switch box or gtfo. Thank you.

    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •