Portrait Speed Drawing (with video)

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Hey guys,
    i did this pic a while back, on A3 paper in about 3 hours (pretty good for me)

entered it with some of my GCSE stuff, what do you think?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bi7cUemsLus

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by BHCS View Post
    Hmm, I guess I fail then.
    You shouldn't feel that way. There are generally less people online during the holidays, which means less people available for critique. Personally, I'm not very good at giving crits for pencil portraits, so I usually don't.

For a drawing done in three hours this is pretty well done. There is a good sense of form in many of the features, some nice lines in the hair (picture left), and the eyes are reasonably expressive.

Anatomically:
    - the eyes look a bit small (or his face is a bit on the wide side), and the neck looks a bit thick, although maybe the person you were we drawing is just a bit on the stocky side.
    - Is the head meant to be tilted slightly? The nose is straight on, but the left side ear lobe is noticeably lower than the right, and the other features seem to suggest a slight tilt.
    - It's also a bit odd that the edge of one shoulder can be seen, but it's not present on the right.
    - Also, you've added just a little bit too much concavity too close to the outer edge of the eyes which makes his orbital areas look too compressed. I'd circle what I meant, but I don't have a tablet at work.

Some other suggestions:
    I think the value range could have been pushed further. His eyebrows almost get lost while squinting, and right now it all feels very high key