Thread: booooo!

Thanks

booooo!

http://www.conceptart.org/forums/sho...threadid=17697

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! That is just mean.
    It's super happy wonderful fun time!
    www.fiddlegarden.com

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    when a post is locked... he is locked
    don't bother people with your opinion...
    no one care... ceeya in other circumstances i hope.
    forge.
    I'm a manky artist, don't mess with me

Thanks
    I wouldn't really even call that "concept art" per se...more like a study (or direct copy, depending on how you look at it) from a photo. He could conceivably post it in the sketches or techniques forums, but it DOES look rather out of place in the "finished" forum.

Also, the portrait may be detailed on the surface, but it's only skin-deep. I don't get much of any sense of the underlying structure, and the figure just comes off as looking odd and boring. It looks, quite literally, like we're looking at a drawing of a photo, instead of a drawing using a photo as reference.

I'm not a big fan of (most) photo-realism because any idiot who doesn't have any idea about anatomical or three-dimensional structure or volume or lighting can color-pick or copy from a photo and get it looking "real", but also because when it comes to photo-realism, a camera lens will beat you every time...there's also the fact that most photographed models are usually very poorly lit where drawing is concerned. (Though they can often be good for studies.)

Anyway, what I like are artists who work from photos for reference, but do things you simply can't do with the camera, and that you need that studied and intuitive knowledge in order to accomplish....something this guy simply doesn't have.

When I look at stuff like this, I'm just utterly unimpressed...so you can copy a photo. Why not just use the photo?