Thanks

my paintings, mostly oils now

Hello everyone. I would like to show two acrylic paintings I did recently. The first one is of a magnolia tree (hopefully at least the tree part is obvious) and the second one is based on a saltshaker. Please tell me what you think. I am a new painter, though I have been drawing for about a year and a half. Both paintings are done on 9x12 stretched canvas.

Have a nice day.
    Last edited by Marcus Scipio; June 1st, 2010 at 11:47 PM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 6,549 Times in 2,760 Posts
    I think both have good brushwork, but the tree is too green, the foliage too sphere shaped and the trunk to symmetrical. I bet there is more character in the trunk and outside shape than how you've portrayed it. You will want to pay closer attention to the edges and contour of the shapes in the future. Remember the edge carries the information.

Thanks
    Thank you for your comments. I think you are right. I am attaching the original sketch. It is in lithography crayon. As you can see, the trunk is not that large, but I could have added some character. Actually, it was my first time painting a tree. I will keep the idea of character in mind in the future.

Thank you for your comments.

Thanks
    This is a painting I did yesterday. It is based off a sketch that can be found in my sketchbook. I had a good time trying to portray the snow in a colorful manner. C&C welcomed.

Have a nice day.

Thanks
    Yesterday, I used acrylics in a watercolor manner for the first time (got some watercolor paper for Christmas). This is a view near my home on an overcast day. I used Ultramarine Blue, Burnt Umber, Burnt Sienna, Cadmium Yellow Light, Titanium White, Phthalo Green, and lots of water. 9x12 in acrylic on Strathmore coldpressed 140 pound watercolor paper.

Tell me what you think, it's my first time painting in this manner.