Marvel samples
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Marvel samples

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Marvel samples

Hello all!

I finally decided to join after lurking on here for awhile. I really should have joined months ago.
    So, I'm an aspiring cover artist trying to work for Marvel.

Thanks for welcoming me!
    Thanks for looking!

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    These look pretty good!

It's hard to offer a blanket assessment of all nine pieces, but my suggestion would be to work a bit more on penciling...the anatomy feels a bit soft and ambiguous in places, and it seems it's be easier to get that stuff worked out before you start in with the painting.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    ...Thoughts? Could you see these as actual covers? Am I on the right track?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Main thing that stands out to me is that your colors are kind of muddy. Shadows and highlights typically have other colors in them.
    Also Spiderman's right wrist is chunky.
    Not a bad start though!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    The ideas behind these are great, and you have a good sense of composition and graphic design. The images are striking, and would stand out on a comic rack. Your biggest problem is that you've put the cart before the horse. You have all this design skill, but your anatomy and rendering need work. There are a lot of unconvincing hands, biceps, faces, etc. in these paintings, and until you are able to nail that stuff, it doesn't matter how fresh your compositions are. Particularly for comics, your anatomy skills have to be rock solid.