Sketchbook: Act One Scene One

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Act One Scene One

Hey everyone.

My name is Justin. I'm a 21 year old sophomore at the Savannah College of Art and Design in Savannah, Georgia. I'm majoring in Graphic design and just recently declared my minor as illustration. I never really drew as a kid (I always wanted to learn, but always became frustrated) and my first real artistic experience came in my early teens with Photoshop. I became really proficient with Photoshop, but never really grasped traditional techniques like form, value and perspective, so I felt my work sort of suffered.

Seeing the works of old masters like Caravaggio, Ruebens, and Durer really inspired me to learn to draw. So, just recently I've taken a hiatus from digital work to hone my drawing ability. I'm hoping that this will improve my design and prepare me for starting a minor in unfamiliar territory.

I'm really interested in improving myself, and extremely eager to hear any hints more seasoned artists may have. So please, critique away.

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by PrimaryVIVID; December 14th, 2009 at 05:10 PM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Skull

I'm currently on break from school, and I've been spending most of my free time drawing, so expect a at least a drawing a day from me for a little while.

Here's a skull I was working on, the reference was from a photograph. I've yet to finish it, but figured I'd toss it out there anyway.

Second is a another one from photo reference, Really trying to show an oozing, goopy texture. It was supposed to say "Castle" but my moleskine was too small, so I settled for case D:

Last edited by PrimaryVIVID; December 14th, 2009 at 02:49 AM.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Some stuff from today.

3 master copies, all from Peter Paul Rueben drawings