The Single Biggest Key to Painting that I know...
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: The Single Biggest Key to Painting that I know...

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Lightbulb The Single Biggest Key to Painting that I know...

Hi-ho, Painters--

The following is the singlemost helpful bit of advice I ever got about painting. If I could think of one key to successful eye-to-painting translation, this would be it, so read on...

In the fall of 1988 I was a sophomore at the Maryland Institute (MICA), in Baltimore, Maryland. I could draw. I understood color and how to mix, and I'd been painting in oils and acrylics for a number of years (with middling success). I entered (the Mighty!) Mark Karnes' "Figure & Landscape" class and was really depressed about the two horrifically messy landscape paintings I made after our slide lecture. At the end of the day we had a crit when (for the first of many times) Karnes, in his Kermit the Frog-like voice, started talking about "Little pieces of light and color" and their "particularities".

When you're painting you look at your scene, and pick a place to start. You carefully mix a color that corresponds to what you see for that patch. You look right next to the patch in your scene from which you made your first decision, and determine: its color, whether it's lighter or darker than that patch, and whether it's warmer or cooler than that patch. Mix that color decision up on your palette, and lay it in right next to the last patch. Keep working "What goes next to the previous patch" like this until your painting is done.

(BTW: All perceived color is relational. "Color", defined in a general sense, refers to all aspects [hue, sat, value, and relative temperature] of a defined, quantum patch of perceived light).