In need of advice.

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

In need of advice.

Hey.

My name is Joseph Basham. I'm a sixteen year old kid from Maryland, and I've been drawing since I was twelve years old. I made this account a long time ago, and haven't posted on ConceptArt.Org in more than a year.

I used to really love drawing, but over the past year or two I have became so obsessed with improvement that I no longer enjoy it. I have been drawing roughly an hour every day, I draw from sites like Posemaniacs.com and Characterdesigns.com. I tend to put off drawing now, because I am almost constantly in something of an art block.
    Sometimes I'll only feel like drawing once a week, sometimes only once a month. Even less often do I create something that I view as "passable", and those rare drawings usually look terrible to me the day after.

What should I do? I'd like to be an artist one day, but this obsession has actually slowed my progress to a crawl, and killed my sense of creativity. Has anyone else ever experienced anything like this? Does anyone have any advice?

Thank you for your time.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Take your time and don't force yourself to do things you don't want to do. It helps you remain creative and not treat it as some school subject.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Same here.

I'd tell you to relax. Art is about to be creative, not to improve. So if you got really good ideas but draw like a 6-year-old boy, it's better that drawing like Rembrandt but having no ideas.

My father was hired by an art studio even though he hasn't got any Arts Degree neither draws good. But he got quite good ideas.

So my advice is to have an idea and develop it. Do rough sketches, then decide what you like the most and finally detail, ink and color it.