making a living trough commercial art

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

making a living trough commercial art

hello everybody im considering becoming a freelance illustrator and i am a complete newbie i was just wondring if its possible to make alot of money through comercial art and what are the diffrent ways off making money? Ive heard about art licensing is that something to consider maybe?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,473 Times in 722 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    It's possible... but you don't want to dive in head first. It's best to aim for an art related day job first, and work your way into freelance if you can.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Becoming an illustrator

Hey guys im thinking about becoming an illustrator. im a complete newbie, im ok at drawing i used to draw alout when i was younger now ive picked it up again? do you guys have any advice on where to start if you want to be a pro illustrator?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Draw a lot. Draw from observation, and also practice drawing from imagination (although don't be discouraged when the latter aren't as developed). Too much of only one type of art will probably hold you back. Read some of the better art books to give you a little direction, then draw a ton more, and reread them. Ask better artists to critique your work once in a while, to have them point out the things you may not be seeing in your own work.

But mostly, draw a lot.

Thanks
    Thanked 16,675 Times in 5,021 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Merged.

Tristan Elwell
    **Finished Work Thread **Process Thread **Edges Tutorial

Crash Course for Artists, Illustrators, and Cartoonists, NYC, the 2013 Edition!

"Work is more fun than fun."
    -John Cale

"Art is supposed to punch you in the brain, and it's supposed to stay punched."
    -Marc Maron

Thanks