Has anyone else had a mediocre experience in a UK art school?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Has anyone else had a mediocre experience in a UK art school?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Has anyone else had a mediocre experience in a UK art school?

I'm not going to discuss which school or any real details, but I am in my third year of study on a degree which is supposedly training me for concept art type roles in the creative industry. From animation to games, book and fine arts.

Long story short, I've yet to have a lesson on anatomy, colour theory, or any painting method. I've attended all lectures and classes for 3 years and I'm finally ready to admit that I've wasted £20,000. The problem is, I need my BA, and to get that I need to be in classes and lectures every day of the week, and when I'm not in uni I'm working, so I'm drained. Financially and mentally.

Is this just my school? Or is this UK art education? It's not like we are not doing anything.. We learn about visual language and do a lot of design work, as well as business planning, but no meat and two veg, as it were. Maybe they don't think art skills are wanted in the job market? I hear a lot of talk about business knowledge getting you farther than being able to draw.

I am now frantically trying to learn to digitally paint, and trying to learn advanced anatomy and colour theory. Has anyone got any advice on how to cram that in fast?

I don't really know what else to say, It's depressing to say the least, but I'm very ambitious, so hopefully it works out.

Anyhow, please share your stories, and don't hold back. I'm sick of defending my school to people. We can't even get good grades unless we suck ****. Let any tales loose, maybe we can warn other UK youngsters not to waste £20k.

Last edited by Pennyj; December 4th, 2009 at 09:23 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following