Teaching myself to Paint!

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Teaching myself to Paint!

I am a huge fan of both Massive Black and ConceptArt. I have spent many years browsing this forum in awe of the amazing work that I consistanty see.
    One of the main things that I love about Conceptart is the fact that there is so much community involvement, even the pros get in on the critiques. I am a 3d Character modeler by trade (5 months out of school) and I love zbrushcentral but it was very discouraging when I posted there and got no responses at all (positive or negative). I am hoping to get some feedback on my early attempts at digital color..and.. maybe if I catch one of the big-wigs on my thread I can ask a few concept art related questions (technically I am a concept art minor).
    Alright, thats my speech and here are my early studies.
    -I have been using digital color for about 2-3 weeks now so I will post everything chronologically.

1. First painting
    Name:  Dark_face2.jpg
Views: 300
Size:  47.4 KB

2. Working out different methods of laying down paint.
    Name:  portrait.jpg
Views: 281
Size:  49.6 KB

3. Testing out different approaches to coloring and paint application. This was colored in B/W and then I used the hue/saturation slider.
    Name:  IsterGay.jpg
Views: 282
Size:  327.8 KB

4. This one I painted in grayscale again but used the color adjustment slider to add colors. I am also exploring composition.
    Name:  kidcowboy.jpg
Views: 322
Size:  281.4 KB

5. I realized that I should be working from life to better my painting skills so I did this with photo reference (not a paintover!) No longer using sliders for color, color from the start.
    Name:  face_study.jpg
Views: 286
Size:  150.0 KB