3D paintovers..tips, tricks, info?

View testimonialsView Artwork
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

3D paintovers..tips, tricks, info?

Hey all,

Im mainly a 3D artist but Ive seen some cool paintovers that made the image a very nice illustration.
    Ive done a bit of digital painting but Im not very familiar with it (mainly cleanup and compositing work for 3D).

Id really like to learn how to do paintovers but I havent found much on the net about learning. Can anyone point me in the right direction, website links, tutorials, tips or tricks? Im sure there are probably different methods, Im just not sure where to start.

Is it basically sampling the colors of an image and painting overtop?

Thanks in advance!

"From here to the ears and eyes of the 'verse!"
    "There are three basic types, Mr. Pizer, the wills, the won'ts, and the can'ts. The wills accomplish everything, the won'ts oppose everything, and the can'ts won't try anything." - Vincent; The Black Hole
    -----------
    www.youtube.com/algae998
    DeviantArt gallery
    Zbrush WIPs
    Sketchbook
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by AA-ron View Post
    Is it basically sampling the colors of an image and painting overtop?
    That would be my guess, but since I haven't done it either, there may be better ways to do it. There are a few filters in photoshop like Dry Brush, Watercolor, Sponge, etc. that may help with making the image more "painterly", as well. Just experiment around with it, I'm sure you'll find something that works to your liking.

"Have no fear of perfection, you'll never reach it." - Salvador Dali

My ugly

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    u 3d guys are lucky, i wish i can do it an paint over all my images with perfect perspective.... and symetry, maybe i should learn

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by riceface View Post