Does size really matter?
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Does size really matter?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Does size really matter?

I picked up a second job so I could save up for a tablet. I now have enough for an Intuos 4 Medium, but really had my heart set on a Large. I desperately want to quit the second job! Should I just settle for what I can afford now. Or hold out for something better?

Also, Cintiq users, the thought of owning one of those bad boys just sends shivers down my spine. But I'm not a professional artist, so would you encourage me to spend that kind of money on a tool? Or start with the regular tablet?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    If you have enough for a Intuos 4 M, buy one. I guess it becomes interesting to have bigger en better tools when the need for it arrives. You say you're no professional artist. I'd say drop the thought of having a Cintiq, it might sound really great to have and work with but in my experience a tablet works better for me.

If you'll become a better artist, even professional it's a good time to think if you need to upgrade when you reach that level. But then again, think of the great stuff that is being made by professional artists using 'just' a medium intuos 3 or 4. It's more a tool then a gadget.

In short: Go with the medium, for now. And when you'll become a professional think about upgrading when that time arrives.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to LostFayth For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    I actually say wait and save for the L. I know you have the cash now for the M, and you really want to drop the second job. But, if you go ahead and get the M, you and I both know that you will always be thinking of that L you wanted when you first started to save.