Thanks

Unleash YOUR Dormant Creativity

How? it's simple. start training the hand you don't currently draw with. (especially if you are right handed)

I started training my left ( non dominant) hand by doing still lifes and self portraits with it, which was initially very hard. my right hand resented just holding the sketchbook and literally tried to steal the pencil back involuntarily. but i quickly realized that my brain was sending the information differently.

true we do use both sides of our brain for many tasks, but i've learned to not underestimate the power of hard wiring. your right hand is hard wired to your left brain and your left hand is hard wired to your right brain. so when i draw with my left hand i find that i can tap into subconscious differences in what i draw, they way i consider composition. much research has been done on the benefits of using the right brain to quickly develop as an artist. consider the great book, drawing on the right side of the brain.

once you've gotten beyond the initial shakiness, you will have an extra reservoir of creativity. you can do sketches with one hand then switch hands and do some more sketches. Once you get more ambidextrous in drawing you might be amazed at how differently the results will be when trying to draw the exact same thing.

give it a try, you might just find that you like drawing with the other hand better! i did. and this is after i went through art school with my dominant right hand.
    Last edited by Crawley; October 22nd, 2009 at 02:03 PM.

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    I've been wondering if this really works. I've hit something of a creativity slump lately, and was considering trying this just knowing the way the brains and hands are wired together as you said.
    Sepulverture's Sketchbook Page 1 Page 19
    Sepulvertures Extended Studies Page 1
    page 2

Tutorials Tips and Tricks needs you to stay alive!"

Thanks