Talent or creativity?

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Talent or creativity?

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Talent or creativity?

Hi!

I'm in an existential crisis here. I've been working as a full time illustrator for kid book for 3 years now. And i'm still strugling with my creativity. Sure I always have to please the client and make what he or she created an cool illustration, but because of this, I never have the time to create for myself. And when I do have time, I feel like a dumbass who can't create anything... I have the talent though, no doubt about it http://www.conceptart.org/?artist=Tiger%20Mimi . But I feel like i'm a boring person and therefore my drawing are boring.

So my question is: Is it harder to get talent or creativity?

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Some of the time when people are complaining about their creativity, they are trying to hold their art up to someone else's standards that may or may not match their own goals as an artist. Both skill and creativity require some sort of thought and study but don't lose sight of your goals. Different things come harder to different people.

I think some of your art is creative especially with subject matter and creature design. Perhaps you can exercise more creativity with the way you use composition.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to JJacks For This Useful Post:

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    And when I do have time, I feel like a dumbass who can't create anything..
    Happens to everyone, its called an "art block", usually during art blocks, i look at images in my inspiration folder and listen to classical/orchestra/game/movie music, it sets a theme and story inside my mind. Not sure it's your cup of tea, but you should try! , I'm sure something would pop up.