Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Photoshop scan.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    chicago burbs
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Photoshop scan.

    I was wondering if there is a way so when I scan in my sketchbook stuff into the computer I will not have to draw it all over. When I draw it in another layer I can put it in front of the color layer. I can paint on the color layer w/o messing up the sketch. When I use the scan I cannot do this. I can just color on that layer and then I can mess it up. Is there a way in Photoshop cs2 i can bring just the drawing in as a layer and not the white paper?

    escuse me if it is simple I'm stumbling on my own.

    Andy


  2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
  3. #2
    The7Artist7's Avatar
    The7Artist7 is offline I'll have a double Rocktastic with added awesome please
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,713
    Thanks
    1,444
    Thanked 1,300 Times in 559 Posts
    One of the simplest ways to do this is to set the scanned layer to 'multiply' - that way all the white will be transparent.

    you cool with how to set a layer to multiply?

  4. #3
    The7Artist7's Avatar
    The7Artist7 is offline I'll have a double Rocktastic with added awesome please
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,713
    Thanks
    1,444
    Thanked 1,300 Times in 559 Posts
    Just in case here's a simple walkthrough:

    When you open you scan it will probably be locked - right-click and make layer from background
    Attachment 802074

    Now your scan layer is no longer locked you can select multiply here
    Attachment 802075

    Hopefully sorted!

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    chicago burbs
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks!

  6. #5
    Randis's Avatar
    Randis is offline ( ゚∀゚)/ ♥♥♥ おっぱい!おっぱい!
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Bucharest/Berlin
    Posts
    2,588
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 3,057 Times in 945 Posts
    Hello doodeler42!
    Nice to meet you!

    and do not forget:

    Filter/Render/Lens flare
    Currently working on my indie RPG , please check out
    DRAGON FIN SOUP on KICKSTARTER
    Please support my Project!
    - - - - - - - - - -
    My finished paintings and other work

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Randis For This Useful Post:


  8. #6
    The7Artist7's Avatar
    The7Artist7 is offline I'll have a double Rocktastic with added awesome please
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,713
    Thanks
    1,444
    Thanked 1,300 Times in 559 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by R a n d i s View Post

    ...and do not forget:

    Filter/Render/Lens flare
    lol

    And you're welcome Doodeler - happy non-messing-scans-up-ing

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    chicago burbs
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ok then....

Similar Threads

  1. How do you scan?
    By XenoFenix in forum Artist Lounge
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: September 5th, 2009, 03:34 AM
  2. Photo or Scan?
    By Dissociation in forum Art Discussions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: October 9th, 2008, 02:09 PM
  3. Art: First Post, Bad Scan
    By Avalanche in forum Finished Art
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 16th, 2007, 07:04 PM
  4. Art: best way to scan in line-art?
    By xxEnder in forum Fine Art
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 14th, 2006, 06:25 PM
  5. SketchBook: Scan Old Sketches art
    By nardsdesign in forum Sketchbooks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: June 14th, 2005, 07:55 PM

Members who have read this thread: 0

There are no members to list at the moment.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Designed by The Coldest Water, we build the coldest best water bottles, ice packs and best pillows.