Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
    Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Classical Atelier at Home

Hi folks!

I want to tell you my story and I hope Im able to elate you for my enthusiasm in what I am doing now and want to do in the future.

When I was a kid I collected Spider Man comics. And I not only read them, I copied the figures by drawing them - the comic book set
    to my left and the paper to my right - since Im a righty. I drew them in pencil and then inked them. Unfortunately I threw them all
    away since my father thought this was a waste of time and "I should put that much effort in my maths homework!"

I did not know that at that time I had put the grounds for the things I am doing now as a grown up and selfconfident person - namely
    learning to see - seeing distances, angles, lengths.

In my job as a lab technician I wasnt happy. During apprenticeship we had to make drawings of the objects we saw through the
    microscope. We also were dissecting mice and rats and had to draw the organs, which I did in McFarlane style The people
    told me "Hey, why arent you doing arts?"
    My mouth had a reasonably sounding reason for it - but my heart said something else.
    After 7 years in the laboratory I got fired

During unemployment I grabbed my oil paints I had gotten few years before - I wanted to paint like the old masters cause their work
    was fascinating me - not that abstract crap.
    "So where to start?" I thought - I did not even know the term Old Masters to look for it. "Ok, lets take a look into the
    internet!"
    and I found a german forum under all these Bob-Ross forums. This forum only had a few members. I showed them the
    website of someone I considered to be that type of artist I admired (Scott Bartner).

I said "I want to paint like he does - can you guys show me?". And they could. Some of these members had contact to William