Terribly confused and frustrated.
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Terribly confused and frustrated.

I'm currently a graphic design student, which used to be one of my passions, but I'm not very satisfied with the program. The way they teach is more like trial and error--do an assignment (no education on the principles of the assignment), it either works or doesn't work, do it again. Maybe this works for some people, but it's not for me. I'm finding it difficult to apply what is "correct" and create good designs. I'm thinking, maybe this just isn't the major for me.

Part of me wants to stick it out for the next two yrs to see if I can actually learn anything, but it's a financial drain and I'd hate to go through all four years and still feel like I wasted all my money.

I thought about transferring to an online school (Full Sail Uni Online, anything I should know about it? I've done a lot of research but let me know if you know anything about it) to save on living costs and tuition costs. My family is currently in a really rough situation and I need to help them out. Even though online schools/degrees tend to have a bad rep (tho I hope Jason can fix this once he gets the TAD school up and running ), I believe that I might get more for my money and be able to save a few thousand while I'm at it.

I was considering either computer animation, or game development. Both are passions of mine as well. Though I've read that a graphic design degree can help with other careers.

My ultimate goal is to start my own multimedia studio, or work in the game industry as either and artist, developer, or director.