Advice to grow as an artist
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Advice to grow as an artist

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Advice to grow as an artist

I'm looking for some advice as to what to focus on as an artist, whether it be fixing anatomy or learning Photoshop. I'm aiming to be a comic book artist and I've been practicing for about three years now. I've gotten a lot of compliments over my pencils but I still feel as if I'm lacking something.

I want to know what I should do next to grow as well-rounded artist. I can only draw with a pencil; I can't ink or color or paint or even use a tablet that well. I want to work for a company and tell stories soon, but I don't want to stop growing and learning.

I've used Photoshop a little, but I don't know how to color or what method would go best with my drawings. I don't want to do super-realism, just stick with my comic look. But I also don't want to be limited by superheroes in tights. I'm looking for any idea on where to go from here.
    Name:  Supergirl-Prime_by_FSbot.jpg
Views: 233
Size:  451.4 KB

Colored by someone else, but I thought the style went well with my drawing.

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    It's been six days now. A little bump. I'm still looking for advice.

Elwell is offline Sticks Like Grim Death Level 17 Gladiator: Spartacus' Dimachaeri
    Thanks
    Thanked 16,666 Times in 5,020 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    If you want to work in comics*, you don't have to learn anything beyond penciling if you don't have the desire to. What you do have to do is start looking at stuff besides comics. Do some life drawing. Draw real people, not just superheroes. Your rendering is pretty good, but there are underlying structural problems with your figures and faces; you need to get a better grasp of how the body is put together and how the parts relate to each other.