fight club still
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: fight club still

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

fight club still

a still from Fight Club.. i'm relatively new to CA.org and to digital painting in general. any comments, crits, and suggestions would help! things i'm having trouble with are his right arm, the eyes, and the angle of the torso [edit] and the freaking lips, good lord help me with the lips!! [edit]. after looking at it and tweaking it for so long i started to get confused as to what can be called "stylized" and what is just sorta off.

and the ref picture

Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    dood, I'm sorry to say this but the head is way to far to the right, an easy way to see what I mean, look at the ref and line up things vertically, like where the middle of his pecs line up to his head, or the edge of his body (btw his left shoulder is too big). Getting a likeness down can be frustrating as hell, I'm doing portraits in my sketchbook and they are all off, gawd freekin doomit

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    yeah i see what you mean. my sketch almost looks like a different frame, from a slightly different angle.. oh well, guess i'll keep workin.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Just keep practising. Remember to start with the basic areas and sizes before adding details such as abs etc.

my sketches here... http://conceptart.org/forums/showthread.php?t=92997

www.sevans.co.nz , visit them or a puppy dies!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Alright you have a solid figure, but you just need to correct your eye. Here is a tip. I use this technique a lot in portraits and figure paintings. What you do is you imagine that you are building the negative space of the character in blocks.
    So here is my quick paint over.

Do understand that you have to Imagine this in your head.