Damn, I can't draw from imagination anymore!

Join 500,000+ Artists

Its' free and it takes less than 10 seconds!

Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Damn, I can't draw from imagination anymore!

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Damn, I can't draw from imagination anymore!

Hello fellow CA members.
    I think I'll recieve more comments here so I copied this from my sketchbook:

I've problems I've never had before - I've got problems with drawing from imagination since I started studying. I think like "I want to draw a big badass demon! Or a fat soldier with gasmask! Or a sexy warrior lady! Yeaaah! ... Um oh no, I'm not good at anatomy so the bodies will end up wrong, ugly and flat, and the faces too. I must learn anatomy and figure drawing perfectly first or I'll not be happy with the result".

Does anyone recognize this type of thinking? Any tips/suggestions to how to break this and draw monsters like a lunatic? Thanks all!

Last edited by Spaggen; September 18th, 2009 at 06:32 AM.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

2. Hide this ad by registering as a member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,473 Times in 722 Posts
    Follows
    Following
    Just don't even worry about ending up with a good result. Have fun with it, and evenutaly start to put a little more polish into your drawings as you go.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    Quote Originally Posted by Liffey View Post
    Just don't even worry about ending up with a good result. Have fun with it, and evenutaly start to put a little more polish into your drawings as you go.
    But that's the problem for me. I can't have fun when I know I'll not be satisfied with the result. It worked fine some years ago when I didn't bother about anatomy and stuff but now when I'm studying I know how much I must learn to make my drawings look a little realistic. Gaah!

Last edited by Spaggen; September 18th, 2009 at 06:33 AM.

Thanks
    Follows
    Following