Digital Painting beginner ..
Join the #1 Art Workshop - LevelUpJoin Premium Art Workshop

Thread: Digital Painting beginner ..

Thanks
    Follows
    Following

Digital Painting beginner ..

Hi everyone, for some time I've been on this site but I never quite used it or got down to starting making concept art/digital painting. Well, here I tried some experiments with digital painting and would like some advice on how to improve on my technique. My background is illustration, but here I've decided to try something different: These are very abstract/experimental, they started off as blobs of color but eventually turned into something that I just visualized somewhat ..

Could you please tell me what works well in these paintings, what doesn't, how I can improve etc. Thanks

Attached Images Attached Images    
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    27 views already !!?? >>>> but no critique !? ... c'mon guys I woke up this morning thinking there'd be some replies but nada .. I hope these works arent that too s*** to be critiqued,

Even if your critiques are at their harshest - fire away !

Thanks
    Follows
    Following
    These are difficult to critique. Kinda hard to tell what we're looking at. Generally, I would say your technique is producing WAY too much black. There's black all over both images, with some color in between. That's just not how real life looks. Study lots of photo reference of the subjects you want to portray - you'll see.

You've also chosen some rather weird colors. The foliage in the first one is not yellow enough; most greenery in the real world is actually surprisingly close to yellow. Then the sky is a bright and unrealistic cyan, with similar shades showing up in the water below. Again, study ref. The second painting isn't as bad in that department, but it's just so hard to tell what exactly we're looking at. I mean, they seem to be buildings, but it's hard to tell anything else.

Thanks
    Follows