Thread: Senior Year

Thanks

Senior Year

Howdy,

My name is Jim, and this thread is going to sound kind of funny. I've been dabbling in concept art throughout my entire college career and a bit in high school. I attend the Massachusetts College of Art and Design, and I am in my final year as an Industrial Design BFA student.

This year the seniors are required to partake in a Degree Project. For this project, one is to choose a topic that is ones passion or major interest, and problem solve / research it. Throughout my quest in the industrial design department, I have designed shower heads, water pitchers, backpacks, and other miscellaneous object that provide little interest to me. While I did not particularly enjoy the topic of previous projects I have learned a solid amount of what it takes to be a designer.

What brings me to this thread is that I want to focus my degree project on 'CONCEPT ART'. I have not yet figured out what this means though. The problem is that is it such an abstract topic. I would like to look at how designs and concepts are incorporated in video games, movies, books, cartoons, any type of entertainment (maybe even theme parks!).

The reason I wish to focus on concept art/design is my passion for it, and my motivation to jump into the industry next May after i graduate. I hope to develop a great portfolio piece to show that what i am capable of.

So currently, i am to begin researching my topic of choice, just to collect a huge amount of information and eventually I will analyze all of the data and move from there.

I was wondering if anyone had any advice as to where i should start / more specifically what i could do for this project. I am at a complete blank for ideas and i don't really know how to write myself a brief on the topic. For instance, should i collect all of the information i can find on Fantasy Sci-fi worlds, and design characters and devices that solve problems the environment imposes on its inhabitants?